Skip to content
You are using an unsupported browser. For best results please use the latest versions of Chrome, Edge, Firefox or Safari.

Student e-Communications Consultation

In November 2009, the CIO initiated community consultation to identify student needs and solutions for email and other institutionally-provided e-communications services.

Terms of reference

  • Review the range and adequacy of current University services that support the e-communication needs of students.
  • Recommend to the Chief Information Officer (CIO) future directions for student e-communications services that reflect changing academic and co-curricular needs, enhanced student experience and fiscal priorities.
  • Identify concerns and obligations in matters such as the protection of privacy and information security that must be addressed in determining provisioning arrangements.
  • Recommend to the CIO the way in which student e-communications services should be provided (i.e., which should be University-operated, which University-facilitated, and which left to personal arrangement by individual students?)


The following individuals generously offered to participate in the consultation:

  • Sarah Ahmed, Student, UTM
  • Arif Anwar, Student, OISE
  • Christine Arsenault, Director, Department of Management Co-Op Program, UTSC
  • Michelle Cortes, Strategic Communications
  • Deanne Fisher, Director, Office of Student Life, St. George Campus
  • Clare Hasenkampf, Director, Centre for Teaching and Learning, UTSC
  • Kelly Jay, Communications, Faculty of Arts and Science
  • Rochelle Mazar, Emerging Technologies Librarian, UTM
  • Chris McGrath, Assistant Dean, Student Affairs, UTM
  • Akash Patel, Student, Faculty of Medicine
  • Maryann Raby, Student, UTSC
  • Seamus Ross, Dean, iSchool
  • Elizabeth Smyth, Vice-Dean, School of Graduate Studies (Chair of the Committee)
  • Kim Stymest, Student, Information Studies
  • Cynthia Yao, Student, Trinity College


  • Alex Nishri, Manager, Email & Web Services, ITS
  • Marden Paul, Director, Planning, Governance & Assessment, ITS
  • Paul Ruppert, Director of Integrated Client Services, ITS